Like every teenager, I was conscious about the way I looked. At any given time, you’d find me in front of the mirror, turning this way and that, trying to see if everything looked alright: my hair, outfit, jewellery, watch, and what not. And this is just on ordinary college days. Every time there was an important event at college, I would try at least 5 different outfits before deciding which one to wear. My hair-do was another story altogether. I loved my hair to bits; it was smooth, silky, and oh-so straight. I was so proud of it that I always let it down so that I could flaunt it in front of the other girls at college. I thought my hair was perfect and that it looked beautiful effortlessly. But I was wrong. This realisation came when the other girls at college flaunted different styles every day and I couldn’t. Reason: my hair refused to be contained in pins and ties; it simply had to slip away. Of late, this had become annoying. I knew I had to do something about it. “Maybe a hair curler will solve the problem”, I thought.

hair curlers

So, that day, I went home and told Mom that I wanted to buy a hair curler. She flipped out. “Are you out of your mind? Why would you want to mess with your perfect hair? Don’t you know that hair curlers damage your hair?” She went on and on about the disadvantages of hair curlers and how buying them was a bad idea.

I couldn’t deal with it. I had a minor panic attack. I could picture myself at college: dressed in rags with my boring straight hair sticking to my face while all the other girls were dressed in funky clothes and had cool hair-dos. No one was talking to me ‘cause I looked out-of-place. They thought I was so-not-cool.

Noooooooo!!! I had to do something about this; I had to convince Mom to let me buy a hair curler.

The best way to convince my mom would be to find valid reasons which would show her that hair curlers are not as harmful as she thought they were. So I researched online. I found out that hair curlers can harm the hair only if the heating element is faulty. Good-quality ones which are functioning properly do not harm the hair. Besides, now ceramic hair curlers are available in the market; these ensure that your hair is smooth and silky.

I used these facts to convince Mother and she agreed. She let me buy the hair curler, but on one condition, that I would not use it more than once a week. I agreed and we called it a truce.

On the same day, I logged on to an online shopping portal and bought a hair curler online . It reached my doorstep within the next two days. I was overjoyed. Now I could sport a new look every week.

Leave a Reply

